Our assessment: where the product may fit
A revolving business card may fit repeated eligible purchases and expense management rather than a single cash-funded project. The available credit limit is not a loan amount automatically paid into the company bank account.
The Free card’s absence of an annual fee is useful to compare, but it does not mean every transaction or carried balance is free. Check the offered interest rate, the payment due date, minimum payment and conditions for interest-free purchases. Other card tiers can have different fees.
The cited card page requires an eligible active UK Ltd, LLP or PLC and a personal guarantee, with other checks applying. Do not assume a sole trader, new incorporation or company with weak cash flow will qualify merely because no minimum trading period is stated.
Capital on Tap: product amounts and repayment structure
Product reviewed: Free Business Credit Card. Published amount or limit: Credit limit up to £250,000; not a lump-sum business loan.
Term or repayment structure: Revolving credit with regular statements and required payments; not a fixed-term loan. Security and guarantees: A business credit card, not a secured/unsecured term-loan offer. Personal guarantee required.
Published eligibility and what is not specified
Turnover or revenue: Monthly turnover is assessed; no fixed minimum is stated on the current cited card page. Trading history: No minimum trading period. An active UK Ltd, LLP or PLC is required; other eligibility checks apply.
Published criteria are an initial product-fit check, not a credit decision. Where a minimum is not stated in the cited material, that means it is not publicly specified there—not that the provider has no requirement. Expect assessment of current trading, existing commitments, ownership and the proposed use of funds.
Pricing, fees and an example with clear limits
Rates from 13.86% APR variable, not a published representative rate. The Free card has no annual fee; individual rates and terms apply.
Full-payment purchase illustration: Assume £1,200 of eligible purchases on the Free card, paid in full by the due date with the applicable interest-free conditions met: £0 interest and £1,200 repaid.
Shareholder illustration, not a representative APR example. It excludes cash withdrawals, carried balances and other charges. Interest may apply if the full-payment conditions are not met.
Decision and funding are different stages
Published decision timing: Most applicants receive an instant decision; a 2-minute application/decision is advertised. Published funding or access timing: Virtual-card spending after approval; physical card in 2–5 business days. This is card access, not cash loan funding.
Advertised timings are not guarantees. A decision can be conditional on documents or further checks, and accepting an offer is separate from receiving cleared funds or card access. Do not commit to a supplier deadline solely on a marketing time estimate.
Features worth comparing
These points describe the cited product rather than a recommendation for every business. Compare them with the actual offer and the needs of your company.
- Revolving purchase credit rather than a one-use term loan.
- The Free card states no annual fee.
- The provider publishes a UK eligibility section and describes virtual-card access.
Important limitations and questions
Ask for written clarification of anything that affects net cash received, repayments or personal exposure before accepting.
- This is a credit card, not a £250,000 cash loan.
- The advertised from-APR is not a representative rate for every customer.
- A personal guarantee and individual credit assessment still apply.
How to compare the alternatives
Compare other business credit cards using the same expected spending and repayment behaviour. Cashback or points should not outweigh interest costs when a balance is carried. Also check whether the suppliers involved accept card payments.
For a project needing a defined lump sum and repayment end date, compare a business loan. For a vehicle or machine, asset finance may better match the purchase. A card limit alone should not determine the amount the business spends.
How this review was prepared
This is a desk-based review of published UK product information checked on 20 October 2026. We have not submitted a test application, obtained a live API quote or tested this provider’s underwriting for this review. Sources are linked below. Provider examples and Shareholder assumptions are labelled separately.
A provider featured in editorial content is not necessarily a Shareholder referral partner. Shareholder’s general finance form does not submit an application to every provider reviewed here. Commercial relationships and how Shareholder is paid are disclosed on this page; they do not establish product eligibility.
A few things worth knowing
Common questions
Is Capital on Tap a business loan?
The product reviewed here is a revolving business credit card. Its credit limit is not the same as an unrestricted cash loan.
Is the Free card always interest-free?
No. Interest-free treatment depends on the applicable payment and transaction conditions. Interest can apply to carried balances or other transactions.
Does Capital on Tap require a personal guarantee?
The cited UK card page states that a personal guarantee is required. Check the full terms and the eligibility conditions for the particular card.