Our assessment: where the product may fit
Funding Circle is worth comparing where an established UK business wants a defined loan and scheduled repayments rather than a deduction from daily sales. Its published product range is broad, but the maximum is not an indication of what an individual business can afford or obtain.
The completion fee matters. Compare the actual interest and fee together with an offer from another lender using the same amount and term. A loan advertised from 6.9% a year is not necessarily cheaper than an alternative after all charges, and that starting rate is not a representative APR.
The unsecured description does not eliminate personal exposure: Funding Circle states that a personal guarantee is required if approved. Consider that obligation separately from the company’s repayment forecast, and do not assume the government-backed products mentioned on its site apply to every offer.
Funding Circle: product amounts and repayment structure
Product reviewed: Fixed-rate business loan. Published amount or limit: £10,000–£750,000
Term or repayment structure: 6 months–6 years Security and guarantees: Unsecured business loan. Personal guarantee required: unsecured does not mean no personal liability.
Published eligibility and what is not specified
Turnover or revenue: No fixed minimum stated on the cited loan page; affordability is assessed. Trading history: At least 1 year; UK-based business.
Published criteria are an initial product-fit check, not a credit decision. Where a minimum is not stated in the cited material, that means it is not publicly specified there—not that the provider has no requirement. Expect assessment of current trading, existing commitments, ownership and the proposed use of funds.
Pricing, fees and an example with clear limits
Interest from 6.9% per year, plus a one-off completion fee. This starting interest rate is not a representative APR. No early settlement fee.
Provider calculator illustration: The published calculator shows £100,000 borrowed, a £6,900 completion fee and £9,252 interest: £116,152 total repayable.
An indicative calculator example based on the provider’s lowest-risk businesses, not a representative APR or a personal quote. Fees and terms can differ.
Decision and funding are different stages
Published decision timing: As little as 5 minutes. Published funding or access timing: Typically within 48 hours after accepting the offer.
Advertised timings are not guarantees. A decision can be conditional on documents or further checks, and accepting an offer is separate from receiving cleared funds or card access. Do not commit to a supplier deadline solely on a marketing time estimate.
Features worth comparing
These points describe the cited product rather than a recommendation for every business. Compare them with the actual offer and the needs of your company.
- Defined term-loan structure rather than sales-based collections.
- Published amount and term ranges make initial product-fit checks possible.
- The provider states no fee for overpayments or early full settlement.
Important limitations and questions
Ask for written clarification of anything that affects net cash received, repayments or personal exposure before accepting.
- Completion fees affect the cost comparison.
- A personal guarantee is required for an approved business loan.
- Its one-year trading requirement is not a route for every pre-trading start-up.
How to compare the alternatives
Compare iwoca where shorter use and interest calculated over actual borrowing days matter, while checking its offer and any longer-term fee. For a specific vehicle or machine, an asset agreement may fit better than unrestricted term borrowing.
A merchant cash advance is not a like-for-like alternative simply because both supply cash. Compare its fixed fee and sales collections with the loan’s scheduled payments. A Growth Guarantee Scheme offer should also be identified explicitly rather than inferred from the provider’s accreditation.
How this review was prepared
This is a desk-based review of published UK product information checked on 20 October 2026. We have not submitted a test application, obtained a live API quote or tested this provider’s underwriting for this review. Sources are linked below. Provider examples and Shareholder assumptions are labelled separately.
A provider featured in editorial content is not necessarily a Shareholder referral partner. Shareholder’s general finance form does not submit an application to every provider reviewed here. Commercial relationships and how Shareholder is paid are disclosed on this page; they do not establish product eligibility.
A few things worth knowing
Common questions
Are Funding Circle business loans unsecured?
The cited UK product is unsecured, but Funding Circle states that a personal guarantee is required if approved. Unsecured does not mean no personal liability.
Is 6.9% Funding Circle’s representative APR?
No. It is an advertised starting annual interest rate. Completion fees and individual pricing affect the actual borrowing cost.
Does a fast decision mean the money arrives immediately?
No. A credit decision, acceptance and transfer of funds are separate stages, each subject to checks and conditions.